JFJ Challenge – Embracing Imperfections

This journal page did not start as an intended response to Challenge #12 – Embracing Imperfections. However, as you can see in the pic, I spelled the word Conundrum incorrectly in PEN on the left side of my page!!  I was so frustrated when I realized it. And I have to admit that I haven’t reached the point of embracing the screw up and have been brainstorming clever ways to cover it up, especially since this page is not done. But I figured it would be a personal challenge for me to post this with the mistake glaring for everyone to see.

Art Journal - Conundrum

I woke up one morning with this word in my head, which I quickly scribbled into my journal so I wouldn’t forget – hence the misspelling.

conundrum |kəˈnəndrəm|
noun ( pl. -drums )
a confusing and difficult problem or question : one of the most difficult conundrums for the experts.
• a question asked for amusement, typically one with a pun in its answer; a riddle.

I used colored pencil on the background. Then I took my journal with me to the hospital during one of Sophie’s stays. So the border was made with medical tape, covered in watercolor. (Yes, I watercolor in the hospital. I’m sure the staff think I’m crazy. But they’re always curious about what I’m making.) The letters are a combination of colored pencils, watercolors, and a little marker. Now what to do about the misspelling……

I was thinking about how Lil’Sophie’s life had been a conundrum from the beginning. She’s had many medical professionals scratching their heads. And then I was thinking about how many difficult decisions that have been made in the last 16 months. Life is a conundrum. I just hope it ends in an amusing riddle.

About Jenny Bagwill

You know those milestone moments in your life where the course you were going completely jolts you into reevaluating all you think or believe? Mine came in 2010 along with a precious baby girl. My healthy pregnancy, produced a baby with many internal defects unveiling themselves after birth like a stack of falling dominos. We lost track of her surgery count once we hit double digits. By the grace of God, our little fighter has survived an open heart surgery as well as a liver transplant along with a myriad of tests, blood work, and medical visits. She’s doing quite well, and we share her journey here: http://www.lilsophie.wordpress.com I hope you take the time to read about our girlie and possibly leave a word of encouragement. My milestone moment (that has continued over the last 2 years), presented many idle hospital hours where I used my time to make hair clips for our little girl who battled to live. It also crossed my path with numerous families in many heartbreaking situations. This is when I decided to use my creativity to do what I can to help others. I try to use my God-given talents to encourage and inspire others which you’ll see me blog about here. I also make a lot of custom pieces to raise awareness of illnesses, syndromes, and diseases that may hit close to home with you. As you’ll see my pieces often contain encouraging words – things hard to say to others in the midst of their dark place. You can view, shop, or place a custom order at here at my JeWeL 4U Etsy Shop - http://www.etsy.com/shop/jewel4u And because our Lil’Sophie has had a liver transplant I always encourage others to consider registering to give the gift of life: http://www.organdonor.gov View all posts by Jenny Bagwill

2 responses to “JFJ Challenge – Embracing Imperfections

  • Olga

    Jenny, I’m so glad you found my blog (probably through Erin Keane’s, who is on Journal Junkies) and I am SO glad I then was able to find yours! What a journey you’ve been through! I will be thinking of you and Li’l Sophie and hoping for a full recovery. Your journal pages are really wonderful, and I know for a fact that this kind of work can be so incredibly healing. Keep it up! Someday Sophie will look at your journal and be able to know you in a way that only art can do.

  • Amy W

    You’re creativity is so wonderful. Your blend of the pain you’re enduring and the creative ability you have make beauty on the pages of your journal. Thank you for sharing. You inspire me.

Leave a comment