Inkjet Image Transfer Fail = Craft Success

In one of my previous posts I mentioned that I’m working on combining my art with journaling, therefore creating an artist journal. However, I have not fully completed any pages because I’m wanting to add photos I’ve taken without gluing the pics right onto my pages. I’ve read dozens of instructions on Inkjet Image Transfer and have spent way too many hours and ink trying to figure this out.  I may have finally found the right combination, but it’s still hit or miss. Thankfully I have an extra, cheap journal for experimenting so I don’t mess up the real thing. Here’s a look at the process I fondly refer to as “FAIL”!

Taking a break from image transfer, I turned my attention to another idea that had been percolating. Because of our Lil’ Sophie’s medical issues, we have an abundant supply of small vials. We use 4 vials daily… times that by 7 days a week, and it doesn’t take long to have a plethora of tiny glass vials. Most of them get tossed, but for the last couple of months I have been thinking about what I could possibly do with them. Then I was struck by the ‘craft’ bug, (very different from an art bug – anytime a glue gun is involved, the line has been crossed. But that’s an opinion for another post.)

A few medical vials

I stripped, sanitized, and turned the little vials into recycled treasures. I used handmade papers, ribbons, and charms. The smallest size (1.5in) transformed into a pendant. The largest vial was too bulky for a necklace, so I added a stem of artificial flowers and it’s now a super cute window vase (approx 7in tall with flowers).

"Believe" vial necklace

"Faith" Vase

Close Up of vase vial

The craft bug continued as I made several cute children’s hair clippies too! (I’ll post those later.) So there you have it! The glue gun prevails, and crafts win this week. Now I must go see if there is anything left in me that resembles creative art.

About Jenny Bagwill

You know those milestone moments in your life where the course you were going completely jolts you into reevaluating all you think or believe? Mine came in 2010 along with a precious baby girl. My healthy pregnancy, produced a baby with many internal defects unveiling themselves after birth like a stack of falling dominos. We lost track of her surgery count once we hit double digits. By the grace of God, our little fighter has survived an open heart surgery as well as a liver transplant along with a myriad of tests, blood work, and medical visits. She’s doing quite well, and we share her journey here: http://www.lilsophie.wordpress.com I hope you take the time to read about our girlie and possibly leave a word of encouragement. My milestone moment (that has continued over the last 2 years), presented many idle hospital hours where I used my time to make hair clips for our little girl who battled to live. It also crossed my path with numerous families in many heartbreaking situations. This is when I decided to use my creativity to do what I can to help others. I try to use my God-given talents to encourage and inspire others which you’ll see me blog about here. I also make a lot of custom pieces to raise awareness of illnesses, syndromes, and diseases that may hit close to home with you. As you’ll see my pieces often contain encouraging words – things hard to say to others in the midst of their dark place. You can view, shop, or place a custom order at here at my JeWeL 4U Etsy Shop - http://www.etsy.com/shop/jewel4u And because our Lil’Sophie has had a liver transplant I always encourage others to consider registering to give the gift of life: http://www.organdonor.gov View all posts by Jenny Bagwill

4 responses to “Inkjet Image Transfer Fail = Craft Success

  • Kerrigan

    I think these are beautiful.You could sell these at a craft market or something like that.What a great idea.

  • Erin Keane

    I like these! I guess you still haven’t luck with the ink jet transfers? I never have had much luck either… It’s been a while since you posted, just wanted to check in!

    • lilsophie

      Thanks Erin!
      I’ve been in and out of the hospital with my little girlie. And now I’m back at the hospital with her because we got “the call” for a liver transplant for her. She’s doing pretty well so far. You can read about it here.

      There’s a lot of down time as we continue to wait for healing, so I brought my artist journal with me. I’m pretty sure I’m the only one in the PICU that is in their room painting with watercolors. 😉

      And on a side note, while hanging out in the hospital for endless hours a person has a tendency to live vicariously through others in the outside world. So you were a dinner topic for myself and my husband the other night. I keep showing him your blog pages, and telling him how much I love your work. My end comment was: “I want to like my work as much as I like hers”. It sparked a fun conversation between us that was a nice distraction from our current medical ‘stuff’. So thanks for continuing to post…. I’m still reading and admiring. Just a bit busy at the moment.

      Maybe when we get far on the other side of transplant, I’ll have some time to post some pics of the pages I’ve worked on while we’ve been at the hospital. It has been extremely therapeutic. Especially if the day has been particularly stressful, I just get out my book and go to my “Zen” place.

  • Erin Keane

    I’m so glad for you and the liver transplant! But I am so sad your child and your family has had to go through so much.

    I would try and check in with your blog but for some reason I couldn’t access it for awhile–I actually thought you’d deleted it–and just randomly tried last night with success.

    Talking about success, when I look again at the ink jet transfers above, those are actually successful. Transfers in general are not an exact likeness of the image, they have a fuzzy or vintage quality, and that’s why some artists work back into them or around surrounding the edges to mesh everything together. I personally have all but given up on direct transfers in my artwork, but I do like using indirect transfers using packing tape / contact paper on magazines or photocopies. Let me know if you want more info.

Leave a Reply

