Talking to Strangers

My neighbors flower

Random pic of my neighbors Gerber daisy flower. I wonder if she knows that I enjoy her flowers and take pictures of them. She probably wishes that I would stay off her drive way, which is exactly where I had to stand to take it. Oh well, it’s pretty and it makes me happy.

As a kid my mom was always good about ‘stranger, danger’.  A little too good. I think she had heard too many horror stories of abductions and such. So I’ve always been cautious. At least until I became an adult. I was thinking about it tonight as I had another stranger incident. I talk to strangers on a regular basis. Now that I think about it, it’s pretty much a daily occurrence.

Tonight I was eating by myself in the hospital cafe area. I spent my entire meal listening some very zealous ladies talk about God. About Faith. About Hope. As they were talking, it was clear they were getting fired up. And by the time they were done I was encouraged. At one point another one joined their group. This lady was very sadly talking about her daughter who was a patient somewhere in the hospital. The ladies were very loudly attempting to build her up… almost a pep rally of some sort. “You gotta believe in miracles!”  “Don’t give up”.  “God can do anything”.  “You gotta believe”.

I left dinner very encouraged for my own daughter laying in her own hospital bed. As I got down the hall…. I felt it.  No! I don’t want to go back. Please, can’t I just go back to my room?!?  My mind said no, I will not go back, but my legs were obedient. I immediately turned around, walked right back up to their table and told them that I had been encouraged by them. I told the discouraged lady that these ladies she was listening to were right. That they were giving sound advice. I mentioned that I understood what it was like to not know what was going to happen to your little girl. The discouraged lady asked me where my girl was… and we both pulled back our jackets to reveal the badges the hospital gives the parents. We both had been on the same floor caring for our daughters but never saw each other. I told the discouraged lady that I heard that she had asked God for a sign, and that sometimes He uses others to provide that sign. I was actually referring to the zealous ladies who had been giving her great advise. I felt that maybe God was using them to give her a message.  But in that moment, the cheerleader for the pep talk that took place just a few minutes before,  must have interpreted what I said,  as me – the stranger – coming to give a sign. She jumped outta her chair exclaiming “That’s it! This is way too much for me!” She was clearly overwhelmed by the thought that maybe – I – was an angel from God to speak a word to them. There was no time to correct this error in thinking, as she was so wound up by what had just happened, she burst out the door.

I’m really not sure what the point of all this was, but I guarantee that ALL of them will be retelling this scenario for a long time afterward.  All I know is that I’m urged to talk to strangers, almost daily. And about 90% of the time it has nothing to do with God. But I can’t ignore those urges. It’s provided for some very interesting situations for me, and at times, my family.

Because my little girl is so small and seems to be trapped in newborn world. I can’t picture her at an age that I’m teaching her ‘stranger, danger’. And if her own mother is not following these rules…..well…. I’m not sure what I’m going to tell her when the time comes.

About Jenny Bagwill

You know those milestone moments in your life where the course you were going completely jolts you into reevaluating all you think or believe? Mine came in 2010 along with a precious baby girl. My healthy pregnancy, produced a baby with many internal defects unveiling themselves after birth like a stack of falling dominos. We lost track of her surgery count once we hit double digits. By the grace of God, our little fighter has survived an open heart surgery as well as a liver transplant along with a myriad of tests, blood work, and medical visits. She’s doing quite well, and we share her journey here: http://www.lilsophie.wordpress.com I hope you take the time to read about our girlie and possibly leave a word of encouragement. My milestone moment (that has continued over the last 2 years), presented many idle hospital hours where I used my time to make hair clips for our little girl who battled to live. It also crossed my path with numerous families in many heartbreaking situations. This is when I decided to use my creativity to do what I can to help others. I try to use my God-given talents to encourage and inspire others which you’ll see me blog about here. I also make a lot of custom pieces to raise awareness of illnesses, syndromes, and diseases that may hit close to home with you. As you’ll see my pieces often contain encouraging words – things hard to say to others in the midst of their dark place. You can view, shop, or place a custom order at here at my JeWeL 4U Etsy Shop - http://www.etsy.com/shop/jewel4u And because our Lil’Sophie has had a liver transplant I always encourage others to consider registering to give the gift of life: http://www.organdonor.gov View all posts by Jenny Bagwill

One response to “Talking to Strangers

  • Shelly

    Thanks for sharing that and for going and sharing with those women. It’s good to know that you talk to strangers….I do too. I don’t rememeber actually when it started but it’s like I’m drawn to someone everytime I go somewhere….and of course I find a why to talk to them. I Love people and love findings ways to encourage them and I know you do to. I think I really came into work everyday JUST to talk to you. I love you for opening you life to me here at work.
    I think I could just spend the rest of my life talking and sharing experiences with other people….too bad I can’t support myself on that : )

Leave a Reply

